Burn Permits & Fire Bans

Fire Bans

There are currently no fire bans or fire restrictions in effect for Kneehill County.

Stay up to date on fire restrictions and fire bans in Alberta, at www.albertafirebans.ca.

Burn Permits

Burn permits are required year-round in Kneehill County. Click the button below to apply for a burn permit. 

Burn Permit Opens in new windowPlease note: This Fire Ban status only applies to Kneehill County and the hamlets within (Sunnyslope, Huxley, Torrington, Wimborne, and Swalwell). The Towns of Three Hills and Trochu, and the Villages of Acme, Carbon, and Linden will have their own advisory or restrictions if any. Please call their offices or visit their websites for details in their jurisdictions.

Burn Permits are required all year long Opens in new window

Burn Permit and Fire Services Enforcement

  • Offence: Lighting a fire without a permit.
    • $500.00 (1st Offence)
  • Offence: Burning Prohibited Debris. Definition: any material, that when burned, will result in the release to the atmosphere of dense smoke, offensive odors, or a substance, the release of which is regulated, prohibited, or controlled by the Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act. Ex. chemical containers, rubber or plastic tires, combustible material in automobiles.
    • $1000.00 (1st offence) 
    • $1500.00 (2nd offence)
    • $2000.00 (3rd offence)
  • Offence: Obstructing the efforts of a Safety Codes Officer, Fire Inspector or Investigator, or Enforcement Officer
    • $1000.00 (1st offence)
  • Offence: Allow a fire to become a running fire, or let a running fire pass from owned or occupied property to the property of another.
    • $1500.00

View our Fire Services Bylaw for more information.