Planning Tools

Development Control:

Development Control Policies

The central goal of land-use planning is the orderly development of land in a manner that promotes the interests of the public while accommodating the desires of individual developers. Planning involves the regulation and control of current development as well as the formation of plans, laws and policies designed to promote orderly, positive and beneficial long-term growth. Development control must take into account existing factors relating to environmental constraints; the interests of adjacent landowners; issues relating to traffic and mobility; infrastructure; et cetera.  Planning, as the word itself suggests, requires that current and future development is regulated in order to promote the long-term interests of both present and future populations as they relate to the health of communities and the environment.

There is a hierarchy of instruments (planning laws, regulations and policies) relating to the use and development of land, which emanate from both the provincial and municipal levels of government.  It is important to remember that, when making decisions relating to the subdivision and development of land, municipalities are bound by an extensive array of guidelines and stipulations outlined in those instruments. The following is a list of the various instruments. They are listed in order of importance and legal standing.

Municipal Development Plan & Land Use Bylaw

The Kneehill County Municipal Development Plan Bylaw 1641, Land Use Bylaw 1718, and associated Land Use Designation Maps may be found on the Bylaws page of this website. 

MDP Public Hearing Presentation 2017  (4.6 MB)

MDP Presentation

Land Use Bylaw (LUB)

Kneehill County's Land Use Bylaw sets out the details for development within the municipality. The LUB is a document that regulates and defines development within Kneehill County. 

Integrated Sustainable Community Plan

As part of a provincial funding requirement, municipalities were required to develop an Integrated Sustainable Community Plan in 2010.

Area Structure Plans

Currently Kneehill County has five Area Structure Plan Bylaws:
Kneehill Creek (Bylaw 1263),
Three Hills Creek (Bylaw 1289),
Saddle-Up Estates (Bylaw 1586),
Badlands Motorsports Resort (Bylaw 1597)
Crocus Coulee Estates (Bylaw 1611)

The Development Authorities for the County are the Kneehill County Development Officers and the Municipal Planning Commission (MPC); the MPC is also the Subdivision Authority for the County.

Where an Intermunicipal Development Plan Bylaw is in effect between Kneehill County and another municipality, an Intermunicipal Planning Commission is the development authority for certain fringe areas of the municipalities.

Environmentally Significant Areas

Environmental Significant Areas - This document was created in 2010. Please note it is a large document (26 MB).
The Alberta Municipality of Kneehill County retained Summit Environmental Consultants Ltd. (Summit) to provide an updated report and mapping of Environmentally Significant Areas (ESAs) within the County. Environmentally significant areas are defined as areas that are vital to the long term maintenance of biological diversity, physical landscape features and/or other natural processes at multiple spatial scales (Jennings and Reganold 1991 as cited in Fiera Biological Consulting 2009).