Weed Management

Copy of Yellow Toadflac (5)

ASB Public Roadside Spraying Program

Invasive weed control remains an Agricultural Service Board (ASB) priority. In 2017 ASB staff will continue our roadside spraying program, spraying the southern third of the County by traveling all roads from the southern boundary north to Twp Rd 30-2, spraying a residual herbicide to control regulated invasive weeds. Invasive weed control throughout the remainder of the County will be done as requested or reported and spot spraying only.

Reverse Fence Line Weed Control

The ASB spray crew will be instructed to leave a one-meter buffer strip between the road allowance and the adjacent land owners property when applying herbicides for weed control. Weeds within this buffer zone may be controlled with permission from the land owner, allowing the ASB to drive on their property, spraying back onto the road allowance. As per policy, all roadside spraying will stop 30 meters upon approaching a farmstead or residence, where buildings and trees are within 30 meters of the road allowance and will continue 30 meters past the farmstead or residence. This area is the responsibility of the adjacent landowner except in the situation where noxious weeds are present, in which case the ASB will work with the landowner to gain control. 

If you are interested in this program, please contact the ASB office at 403-443-5541 or toll free 1-866-443-5541.

Private Land Weed Control

Agricultural producers within Kneehill County can receive assistance in controlling noxious weeds. On a cost recovery basis, the ASB will assist producers with controlling small patches of select noxious weeds to a maximum of one acre in crop and two acres in non-crop areas. The ASB will supply manpower, equipment, and herbicides. 

The Kneehill County ASB is also contracted and responsible for weed inspection within most urban centers.

Weeds in Kneehill County

Weeds that are of particular concern within Kneehill County include:

  • Baby's Breath
  • Black Henbane
  • Canada Thistle
  • Common Burdock
  • Common Mullein
  • Common Tansey
  • Dames Rockets
  • Leafy Spurge
  • Scentless Chamomile
  • White Cockle
  • Yellow Clematis
The Noxious weeds listed above are highlighted because of their aggressive nature within Kneehill County which may financially impact private, crop, or pasture landowners. In an effort to keep these plants from spreading further Kneehill County Agricultural Service Board Office (ASB) would appreciate help from the public in regards to information on infestation locations as well as with control of these species on their lands. 

Weed Management Policies 

For more information on theses weeds and others, visit Alberta Invasive Plant Council's website at www.abinvasives.ca.

Ratepayers are encouraged to call the ASB office to report invasive weed growth on County property and public lands so they may be controlled as soon as possible. 1-403-443-5541 or Toll Free @ 1-866-443-5541. 

Alternatively, use our Online Form to report a weed.